Rows of Corn

This is the second in a four-part series exploring the seasonal sections of my forthcoming haiku collection The Deep End of the Sky.

“Rows of Corn” is the title of the summer section of The Deep End of the Sky, my forthcoming collection of haiku from Turtle Light Press. This section of the book features 11 haiku that focus on farm-related tasks and continues to explore familial relationships. A few examples:

the Big Dipper—
rows of corn connect
farm to farm

cemetery—
the scent of muskmelon
from the next hill

wind in the tall grass . . .
an old blue car
almost in motion

South Dakota’s top crops are corn, soybeans, hay, wheat, and sunflowers. Of these only corn and wheat make an appearance in “Rows of Corn”, but muskmelon and watermelons also show up as well. Besides hay (bales), my favorite of South Dakota’s crops is the sunflower. Even though there are sunflower fields all around Pierre, I have yet to write a haiku about them that is as good as the haiku in The Deep End of the Sky. Oh well, maybe I’ll get one written for my next collection.

If you enjoy these haiku, and the ones from my post “The Tractor’s Radio”, then you should think about getting a copy of my book The Deep End of the Sky. It’s available to pre-order from Turtle Light Press for $12.50 with free shipping in the US.

3 thoughts on “Rows of Corn

  1. Hi Chad,

    I am enjoying these ‘sneak previews’. Having been brought up on a farm, I love reading haiku about rural activities and with country settings. I’ve been an urbanite (or townie) for most of my life now, but my country roots are very strong!

    All the best,
    Sandra

    Like

    • Hi Sandra!

      I didn’t grow up on a farm, but they surround the small town I live and grew up in. I’ve driven many miles across the state of South Dakota and have seen much farm work throughout the seasons. Every fall, my dad and I drive to some small fields about 35 miles east of Pierre and pick melons, pumpkins and gourds to sell at my dad’s store. Much of the small talk in banks and barber shops and small store’s like my dad’s is about farming: crop prices, the weather, etc. It’s just part of the culture here, even for those of us who don’t have much experience with farms and farm work. Anyway, I’m glad you like the previews. The book is really coming along now. Interior images are chosen, and a cover is near completion. Layout and design are finished as well. It won’t be long now. Stay tuned! Thanks for stopping by!

      Kindly,
      Chad

      Like

  2. Pingback: Wanted: A Spot on Your Bookshelf | The Deep End of the Sky

Leave a Reply

