On a Roll

This morning I heard from the editor of Modern Haiku who has accepted two haiku from my recent submission. This means I have reached all my writing goals for the year, and it’s only July! This is very unusual as I tend to pace myself in order to make my goals more manageable and to not put too much pressure on myself to write more than I am able or have time for. Not only that, I also do it to try to eliminate unnecessary disappointment. Writing, and finding time for it, is hard enough as it is. I don’t need to make it harder. Anyway, this year my writing has been a bit more like it was when I I first started publishing haiku. This year I’ve written enough material to allow me to submit widely, and often. I have placed haiku in all the usual, top-notch journals plus a couple new ones. I’ve had work published in Acorn, Akitsu Quarterly, Frogpond, Mariposa, The Heron’s Nest, A Hundred Gourds, and more work is forthcoming in bottle rockets, Modern Haiku, muttering thunder and Wild Plum. All of this on top of seeing my contest-winning collection The Deep End of the Sky published by Turtle Light Press. Any new work that’s accepted now through the end of 2015 is just icing on the cake, and will bring me closer to a major milestone (for me, anyway). I won’t say what that is until it happens. I don’t want to jinx it. But for now it seems I’m on a roll.

4 thoughts on “On a Roll

Leave a Reply

