Pop Bottles: Book of the Week

pop-bottles-cover-imagePop Bottles, my first chapbook of haiku published by True Vine Press in 2009, is the book of the week at The Haiku Foundation. You can read it online or you can download it, all for free from The Haiku Foundation’s digital library.

Pop Bottles won the 2009 True Vine Press Chapbook contest. Chapbook manuscripts were to have a summer theme. Judges were an’ya, Gary Hotham and Tony Thompson. According to my notes, the contest received more than 50 entries.  For the win, I received $20.00 plus 20 copies of the chapbook (cha-ching!). Due to an error in the opening haiku, which was corrected, I received another 25 copies. Other finalists were Michael McClintock, Sandra Simpson, Elliot Nicely and Darrell Lindsey. Original cover art by Ron Moss.

Shortly after the publication of Pop Bottles, True Vine Press ceased operations which included closing the doors to Wisteria, a haiku, senryu and tanka journal edited by Tony Thompson. I don’t know how many copies of Pop Bottles were ultimately printed, but it’s probably safe to say that there weren’t many more copies than the 45 I ended up with. Over the years I’ve either sold or given away almost all the copies I have. So, if you are one of the lucky few who owns a copy, hang on to it. Keep it in a protective sleeve like your favorite baseball card. Personally, I keep my remaining copies in a fire and water proof vault that requires both fingerprint and retinal scans to gain entry. Seriously though, I am excited that Pop Bottles is in front of a much bigger audience than its original print run. So many more people will be able to enjoy it now.

Thanks to The Haiku Foundation, Jim Kacian, and THF librarian Garry Eaton for including my chapbook in the digital library and for featuring it as book of the week.

One thought on “Pop Bottles: Book of the Week

Leave a Reply

